Google to Delete Some User Web History After 18 Months… Who Knew They Had it That Long?!

Really?! Google has our search history, and can share it, a year and a half later?!

The company has graciously announced that it will automatically delete some location history after 18 months for new users and make it easier for everyone to access its search, Maps and YouTube apps without being tracked.

How about deleting our history after 18 minutes? Or better yet, 18 seconds?

Still, this is an improvement. The company faces backlash over privacy concerns and new laws on user history in the European Union and in California. Several lawsuits by consumers and U.S. state attorneys general in the last few months have accused Google of deception in data gathering, and no one is surprised.

Under Google’s updated settings, YouTube’s viewing history of new users will disappear after 36 months and location tracking and web browsing history will get dropped after 18 months. Users have the option of choosing shorter or longer timeframes.

But don’t worry, Google can still access and store location details in other ways.

As for using Incognito, Google made it easier, so all you have to do is hold down the profile picture while searching.

It’s still all about cash. As much as Google talks about privacy, the company makes money by putting ads in front of people most likely to buy stuff.  That requires knowing things about them, which requires watching what they do.

Remember, if you don’t pay for a product, such as Google internet searches, then you are the product.

See Comments (1)

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Comments (1)


  1. Rick Gilreath
    Reply

    Big Brother is watching you!!!!

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!